

RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNCIL LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

Minutes of the virtual meeting of the Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee held on Tuesday, 29 June 2021 at 4.00 pm.

County Borough Councillors - Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee Members in attendance:-

Councillor J Rosser (Chair)

Councillor J Brencher Councillor D Owen-Jones Councillor M Powell

Officers in attendance:-

Miss N Morgan, School Organisation and Governance Team Leader

12 APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from County Borough Councillor S. Rees-Owen.

13 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

RESOLVED – In accordance with the Members Code of Conduct, the following declaration of personal interest in a matter pertaining to the agenda was declared:-

County Borough Councillor J. Rosser in respect of agenda item 6 "I am a Governor at Alaw Primary".

14 TO ELECT A CHAIRMAN

RESOLVED to elect County Borough Councillor J. Rosser as Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2021-22 municipal year.

15 TO ELECT A VICE-CHAIRMAN

RESOLVED to appoint County Borough Councillor J. Brencher as Vice-Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2021 – 22 municipal year.

16 MINUTES

It was **RESOLVED** to approve the minutes of the 23rd March 2021 as an accurate reflection of the meeting.

17 TO CONSIDER PASSING THE UNDER-MENTIONED RESOLUTION:

RESOLVED that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

18 APPLICATION FOR APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In her report, the School Organisation and Governance Team Leader advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, four applications for governorships were circulated for consideration.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below:

SCHOOL	GOVERNOR	EFFECTIVE
		DATE
Aberdare Park Primary	CBC A Crimmings	1 st January
		2022
Abernant Primary	Mrs P Jones	4 th October
		2021
Alaw Primary	CBC J Rosser	3 rd October
		2021
Blaengwawr Primary	Mrs E Christopher	3 rd October
		2021
Brynnau Primary	Mrs A Davis	6 th October
		2021
Darrenlas Primary	CBC A Morgan	9 th September
		2021
Hirwaun Primary	Mrs N Thomas	31 st
		December
		2021

Llanharan Primary	Mrs C Kennedy	31 st December 2021
Penderyn Primary	Mrs N Thomas	17 th July 2021
Pengeulan Primary	CBC R Williams	31 st December 2021
Penrhys Primary	Miss s Rees	31 st December 2021
Penygawsi Primary	Mrs C Quinn	4 th October 2021
Penygrenglyn Primary	Mr R Jenkins	31 st December 2021
Ton Pentre Junior	Mrs M Hutchings	31 st December 2021
Trehopcyn Primary	Mrs R Silver	31 st December 2021
Maesgwyn Special	Miss N Lewis	31 st December 2021
Tonyrefail Community School	Ms G Wong	31 st December 2021
Hawthorn High School	Mr S Pritchard	31 st December 2021
Mountain Ash Comprehensive School	CBC P Jarman	24 th September 2021
Pontypridd High School	Mr W Davies	7 th December 2021
Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun	Ms L Harrington	31 st December 2021

(**Note:** Having earlier declared a personal interest in the matter County Borough Councillor J. Rosser left the meeting for the Appointment of the Governors at Alaw Primary).